WHO classification: Formal complaint to NHSIA - Response from The NHSIA



Steven Harrison, Head of Corporate Affairs at the NHS Information Authority, has responded to Dr Shepherd's formal complaint regarding the inaccurate classification of chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) in the Mental Health Minimum Data Set (MHMDS) (below).

NHS Information Authority
Aston Cross
Rocky Lane
Birmingham B6 5RQ

18 March 2004

Dear Dr Shepherd

Formal complaint to the NHS Information Authority regarding the classification of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) in the Mental Health Minimum Data Set (MHMDS)

I have now been able to investigate your complaint fully.

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) is categorised under G93.3 in the main WHO ICD-10 classification mandated for use in the UK and under F48.0 in the UK adaptation of the WHO Guide to ICD-10 Chapter V in Primary Care.

In February 2004 the new release of the UK adaptation to the WHO Guide to ICD-10 Chapter V Primary Care Version was published. This now classifies CFS/ME solely under G93.3.

The NHS Information Authority will place a note on our website drawing users' attention to the changes within this Guide introduced in February. The website will be updated with the current information by the 24 March 2004.

I hope the information above now clarifies the situation and provides a satisfactory explanation answering your complaint.

Yours sincerely

Steven Harrison
Head of Corporate Affairs
NHS Information Authority